We like lasagna.

Actually I’m a sucker for any sort of pasta meal. One of my particular favourites is penne with a rich tomato based sauce with meditteranean vegetables like courgette and aubergine and artichoke hearts. Hmmm I digress.

Onto my lasagne.

I make up a tomato based sauce, this one went something like this… Sauté an onion and add garlic once softened. Add some carrot, aubergine, courgette, red, green and yellow peppers, mushrooms and sun dried tomatoes all chopped into small pieces. Cook down for a while then add some passata. I had some left over red wine so added a bit of this as well. Season with pepper, oregano, basil and a sprinkle of balsamic vinegar. I also add a few coriander seeds which work beautifully with tomato sauce. Cover and allow to simmer while you make the white sauce.

This white sauce is based on one from the uncheese cookbook (which I cannot recommend enough by the way, even if it is just for the sprinkles, which I think I’ve covered before?)

So, in a blender or processor mix some yeast flakes (a coupe of handfulls), a tablespoon of white miso, a tablespoon of tahini, a tablespoon of cornflour, two tbsp porridge oats, quarter pint of liquid (water, soy milk, white wine blend this time) and juice of one lemon. Blend until smooth.

Time to build lasagne. Put a layer of tomato sauce, a layer of lasagne sheets (I use easy cook) and repeat, finishing with pasta. Then pour on the white sauce to cover everything. Top with some Parmesan type sprinkles (try the ones in the aforementioned uncheese book!) and cook in hot oven (180-200c) for about 40 mins until top is browned.

Delicious with rocket salad and some crusty bread.

Some pictures.

Just going in oven and leftover ready for lunch pots 🙂

